10g Tank for a Tortoise Hatchling ?

Broken_Pixle

Location (City and/or State)
USA
I am new to the tortoise world and I have finally figured out what tortoise would be best for my lifestyle and my weather conditions, a Leopard Tortoise. But I do not know where to keep it. I know that they get large when they are adults, but I do not know how to house them when they are young. I have a 10g tank for reptiles that is not in use and it would be amazing (If for a least a year or something) I could keep my new tortoise in something I already have. Because I don't know the activity level of Leopard Torts, and I don't know if I need a larger area, I am asking for help. I am getting a hatchling and will only have them indoors when they are young. When they become an adult, I will be keeping them outside. (With the right weather conditions of course.) Thank you for your advice!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
A 10 gallon is not a proper size for even a good fish even though they will sell it too you.
You need at least a 50-60 gallon tote box that is long. That will work for about a year.
Too small and you can't get temps and humidity right nor can you fit all the things it needs.
Take a read of the caresheet. Even the sulcata one works for leopards.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California

Romeo Serback

New Jersey