100%SA leopard or a mix of two subspecies.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChasingBike

5 Year Member
Hello guys,I saw a CBB leopard tort in the local pet shop,they told me that it is a 100% South Africa Leopard Tortoise,how do you guys think?I don't know how to tell the differences between a 100% SA Leopard Tortoise and a mix of two subspecies.
d72dda2a6059252d146e5d30369b033b5ab5b9d9.jpg
2z70ndf.jpg

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Orange County, So Cal
Usually, it has been said, it is the two dots on the scutes ... but in South Africa some have been seen without the two dots. Then, also said, they have little dots on the skin, like freckles. An expert on the forum also said the nose, how they hold it up but that is an expert eye thing. I am a non expert but that baby to me looks like it could be a GPP, South African. Expert folks will chime in soon! Cute little baby, from here it looks like it needs more humidity, but that could be the angle of the picture. If you do get it, don't forget to keep it's habitat enclosure warm and humid so it does not pyramid. Love the leopards! : )

ChasingBike

5 Year Member
Re: RE: 100%SA leopard or a mix of two subspecies.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves said:
Usually, it has been said, it is the two dots on the scutes ... but in South Africa some have been seen without the two dots. Then, also said, they have little dots on the skin, like freckles. An expert on the forum also said the nose, how they hold it up but that is an expert eye thing. I am a non expert but that baby to me looks like it could be a GPP, South African. Expert folks will chime in soon! Cute little baby, from here it looks like it needs more humidity, but that could be the angle of the picture. If you do get it, don't forget to keep it's habitat enclosure warm and humid so it does not pyramid. Love the leopards! : )