1 month old baby Leo with swollen eyes

Katybug

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Utah
I am a newbie and a new mom to a baby leo.
I have been reading this forum all month to try and come up with the best affordable cage for my baby.

she is on coco coir substrate. 2 hides, one is a humidity hide with moss. two water dishes, and I have also purchased a humidity machine because it is very dry here in Utah. i dampen her substrate daily.
I soak 30 min daily but have started to change that to 2 x daily with the baby food carrots soak I have been feeding her, water cress, collard greens, turnip green mix.
I had a 160 w. zoomed uvb bulb for a basking light and I was using a ceramic heat bulb for the rest of her cage. the zoomed light was lighting up her cage pretty well so I didn't bother with a second light. her basking temp was about 100 and the rest of her cage about 80. her night time temps are kept between 70-80 with the ceramic heat bulb. i recently started to use a regular house hold bulb 60w incandescent in place of the ceramic heat bulb thinking she needed more light.

she has very swollen eyes and is not moving or eating unless I soak her. after her soaks she eats, wanders for a bit and goes back to sleep. her eyes wont open unless I soak her.

I have since removed the 160 watt bulb and replaced it with a zoomed uvb 100 watt bulb because i thought the 160 was hurting her eyes.

I am so stressed that I am going to lose her!!!

Please please help!
20140324_135024_zpsae97f925.jpg
[/URL][/img]

:(

Attachments

• 20140324_135024.jpg
    20140324_135024.jpg
    862.9 KB · Views: 78

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
RE: PLEASE HELP!!!! 1 month old baby Leo.

You're using the 160w Zoo Med PLUS the incandescent bulb? That's way too much light for such a tiny baby. I only use a 100watt MVB in a tort table about twice the size of your viv.