Would you buy artsy stuff for your tortoise enclosures?

TortelliniLover

I'm an artist and tortoise owner, and I like having the pottery I made in my tortoise's habitat, I'm wondering if anyone else would be interested in these things as well? I'm also trying to get into making fancy tortoise hides (think hobbit holes). One main problem I think there might be is that I think most tortoises are bigger than my Russian... What do you all think?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
I wouldn't, it wouldn't benefit the tortoise only for my enjoyment.

Yelloweyed

5 Year Member
SoCal California
I would be interested in a clay water/soak dish for small tortoises or babies. The pet store dishes are nice and deep but have dangerously steep sides and only one walk-in side. I have seen the cement ones that other members have made and would love one made from clay. A 12-inch dish that has a gentle slope all the way down to a 2-inch depth in the center and a rolled rim, maybe? Owners with baby torts could add rocks in the middle or not overfill for adjustments.
Designs stamped into the dish would help with walking but glazed designs would need to be kept to a minimum.

Another item I've looked for is a toad home. Basically an overturned clay pot with a spot cutout for an entrance. The holes for a toad are generally too narrow and too tall and they are really expensive. You could decorate and glaze just the top inch or two but leave the rest unfinished for the moisture retention attributes. I've shattered a bunch of pots trying to make one myself.

The only reason I wouldn't buy one is if it's over $25. I love my torts but specialty items just force people to DIY.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
I would.
I love art in everything. In public spaces and in home and tortoise places. Functional art is awesome great because it is double duty.