what kind of tortoise is she?

shadycoco

Please help, I am new to the tortoise world, I was called to a friends house and told you take her I saved her from her place now I can't keep her, I was told she is the kind of turtle that grows up into a tortoise. She came with meal worms, a food bowl and some really long claws. No idea what part of the world she comes from. My friend said they had been selling tortoises to the pet store if that helps.

20170602_044917.jpg 20170602_045042.jpg 20170602_044944.jpg

PJay

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia
It's a box turtle with metabolic bone disease. Looks like a three toed box turtle. It is probably not going to get any bigger and needs some tlc. Let's call in someone with first hand experience with box turtles with mbd: @lisa127

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
LOL! Your comment about the turtle being the kind that grows up to be a tortoise made me chuckle. There is no such thing. They're either turtles or they're tortoises. At any rate, you've probably saved this little box turtle's life by taking it in. It's amazing that people think it's ok to treat turtles this way and that he looks ok with nails like that.

It's ok to clip those nails. Take him out into the sun (very bright light) and look for the dark line inside each nail (blood). You can clip up to that dark line. If you go too far it will bleed. You don't want that. But if you do make it bleed you can tap a bit of flour onto the nail. Or before you undertake the job go to the pet store and buy some styptic powder. That is used to stop bleeding.

Good luck with your new turtle. I think you're really going to enjoy having it. They are very people oriented and fun to have.

Welcome to the Forum!

lisa127

10 Year Member!
NE Ohio