Vet for star tortoise in Singapore?

Starch3wy

Hi,

Ive been keeping my star tortoise for close to 10 years and it has been eating healthily all along.
However, she has suddenly stopped eating since Fri, 16 May till today, 18 May and has not pooped since Thurs. i suspect that, due to the abrupt change in weather these 3 days in Singapore, she caught a flu.

I have put her in a container with lukewarm water for half an hour on 17 May, Sat and today, 18 May as i heard it helps in regulating her body temp. But, she is still not eating.

Does anyone know of vets in Singapore who can attend to reptiles? I know most vets specialize in dog/cats only.

Thanks.

glaerey

5 Year Member
its pretty normal for tortoises not eating for a few days. any other symptoms like wet nostrils, heavy breathing, etc?

Starch3wy

Hi, but this has never happened before :( anyway I managed to bring her to a vet but the vet was not able to tell what was wrong! The vet gave a metomide jab to stimulate appetite and she started to eat the next day and today, but very little (not her usual appetite)... But she has pooped twice in the last two days. Hence I am really puzzled and am not sure what is wrong?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Please accept my apology for not responding to this thread when you first posted it. I don't know how it escaped my notice.

I hope the issue has resolved and the tortoise is now back to eating and acting normal? I had not heard of Metomide before. Glad it seemed to help with the tortoise's appetite.

Usually, when a tortoise stops eating, it has to do with the temperature, and since you said that the weather had changed, that's probably what was wrong. If it cools off, you can always proved additional heat by using a light or heat element to make sure the tortoise stays warm enough.