Uv lighting

Harley99

Location (City and/or State)
Moline Illinois
Hi all looking for some advice on what uv light you use on an indoor enclosure i will be setting it up for a russian tort if that makes any difference thanks

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
One more question for now can i use a regular fixture from lowes or do i need one made for the bulb
You can get, for example an inexpensive 18" tube florescent fixture from Lowes And remove the tube. Replace it with a 10.0 tube from the pet store. The whole thing should run about $30. A savings of $20-$30 off of buying the whole fixture from the pet shop.

zovick

10 Year Member!

I have been doing this hobby for 60 years plus, and have looked around plenty. I stand by my statement the LLL Reptile has just about the best prices on those bulbs. For example, LLL Reptile has the same 18" bulb priced at $26.59 in the Petco link above and the LLL Reptile price is $21.99.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Those regular 10.0 bulbs will work but they need to be mounted no more than 10-12" above the tortoise to be effective. So says my UV meter. I would also get a bulb that was closer to the length of the enclosure, which for an adult russian should be around 8 feet long by 4 feet wide. One or two 48" bulbs will serve you better than an 18".

If you need to mount the bulbs higher than that, look into the newer HO types bulbs. You'll need to buy the correct fixture for these as they are higher wattage and different lengths than standard" bulbs.

I recommend that you do not use the cfl type screw in UV bulbs. They are not all that effective as UV sources over larger areas and they sometimes burn reptile eyes.

You can get good advice and products here:
http://www.lightyourreptiles.com

And here are some more tips incase you haven't seen theses yet: