Tortoise owner by divine intervention LOL

Macey Noel

Location (City and/or State)
Washington
Hi, my name is Macey.
Im from central Washington state and on May 4th 2015 when I was pulling into my gravel driveway I saw a little tanish brown "blob" in the path. Upon further inspection and to my surprise, it was a little Russian tortoise!!
Now as a person I have a degree as a veterinary technician (although I do not prcatice as one anymore) but as a disclaimer I only really know cats and dogs and not a lot about reptiles. I knew enough to know he looked rough. His skin was really dry, he was acting very lethargic when I picked him up and his shell was (and still is until I find a way to fix it) flacking. I asked all the surrounding houses on my block it he belonged to anyone but to no avail. He seemed like he needed a good home and I figured I was just the person for the job. After some consideration with my husband, we named him Sebastian <3
I joined this forum to learn all I could from people who were very familier with tortise care. Because while google is awsome, it can also be inconsistante. And so I value the experiances shared by skilled owners to help the rest of us on this site.

Picture taken after I found him
GetInline.aspx

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
Welcome. I'm right down the 5 outside Salem, Oregon. We have a number of members up in your neck of the woods. As Mike mentioned, your picture didn't show for me either.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
Welcome to the forum. Russians are escape artists, and can cover a lot of ground quickly. I would place a Craigslist ad. His owner may be devastated they lost him. I would be worried sick not knowing if he was ok.
He needs a nice warm soak to start with.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Macey, and welcome to the Forum!

I second what Jodie has said.