Stopping those pyramids...and sort of introduction

GuyC

Hello All,

After sniping around this forum for very....very long, always looking and reading but never posting I'd figure I'd come out of the shadows and post pics.

I'm from the Netherlands, where I've kept reptiles all my life (my parents had a little group of Hermanni's in the garden since I was a kid). I'm a vet (I know...not the most popular here on the forums), and I did do extra work in the area reptiles. I'm very aware that knowledgeable keepers know infinitely more about reptiles and specific species than 99.9% of the vets, as I've been both ;)

Here's some pics of our little Sulcata (Binky Poe), who had some pyramiding when I got him, but as you can sort of see in the pictures has dramatically slowed pyramiding due to the current borderline aquatic housing/treatments I've been giving. I'll maybe post some pictures in a couple of months, but this is the effect of about 2 months, where you can see a gradual decrease in pyramiding and about a mm of smooth formation in between the scutes right now.

Thanks for all the great advice, and see/stalk you around.

bp1.jpg bp4.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

You are most welcome here, and I've made a note on my member's list that you are a vet. We're grateful that busy people such as yourself can take the time to join us here and share your knowledge with us. It's the vets who pretend to know about turtles and tortoise and offer bad advice that we are leery of.

Your little sulcata is a real cutey pie.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome to you. Yvonne spelled it out very nicely, I think.