[split] new to the forum with redfoot question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpdhld

5 Year Member
[/color][/size][/font]Hello all I am Heather and I just purchused a RedFoot Tortoise I do not know how old she is the pet store said that is was the smalles they have ever recieved a tortoise before. She is about 4 inches long and 3 inches wide. She sleeps ALOT and will only eat or drink when I bring her to her food or water. She never eats much, and I am worried that she is not getting enough to eat.

jpdhld

5 Year Member
HEllo

Hello all!
I am new to the Tortoise world~ We just bought a redfoot tortoise! We got her from a pet store they did not know how old she is they said they never have had a tortoise so small befor! She is about 3inches wide and 4 inches long~~~ she sleeps ALOT and I am not sure that she is eatting and drinking enough, she will only eat or dring when I move her to her food dish or water dish...is that normal?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Heather:

Would you like for me to have our administrator change your username to something besides your email address? We don't usually like to have our email addresses posted all the time like this on the internet.

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like for us to call you?

Also, when we know approximately where you are, it helps us design our answers to better fit your questions.

Your new little tortoise is probably pretty stressed out about having to move to a new home. Plus, baby tortoises are prey and stay hidden most of the time. Its not unusual for them to only eat if you dig them out. Put it in front of the food then quickly move out of sight. Once the baby gets more comfortable in its new home, you can start to interact more with it.

Please go to the turtle library and read about your new redfoot tortoise:

Tortoise Library

jpdhld

5 Year Member