Soon To Be Sulcata Owner

Brett Lucksinger

I am new to this and trying to learn everything I can. I am in the process of setting up my outdoor enclosure for a 70lb male sulcata that I am adopting around the 1st of November. The enclosure will be 8,000 sq.ft. and I am trying to determine the best option for the night box. I have seen both sheds and boxes used and I am leaning towards building a box. I looked at Tom's thread (great detailed pictures) but I am not sure if 4'x8' is enough floor space for an adult sulcata. I like the insulated box design because it seem very efficient for maintaining heat. Any suggestions on the proper size box for an adult sulcata will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Brett

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California

Alaskamike

South Florida
Are you so place with very cold winters where he will spend all his time in the box to stay warm ?

Makes a difference on size you might provide.

Here in South Florida we have 3 months when a heated hide is essential. But mainly at night. Many days it gets over 70 and full sun even if it drops below 40 at night.

I used for my 40 lb sully a dog house , insulated it and put in a CHE. Not as efficient as a oil space heater but works. Covered the door with a clear car floor mat. ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1444397672.727837.jpg

That box is 30" X 36". And provides plenty of room for him.

In colder climates people have used entire sheds , while it snows outside they are warm & toasty. Even then they often come out - tramp through the snow and go back in.

Brett Lucksinger

A 4x4' is plenty for one adult sulcata. Like this:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/another-night-box-thread.88966/

I housed five 35-80 pound sulcatas in one 4x8 with no issues at all. That box is identical to this one:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/my-best-night-box-design-yet.66867/