Soaking?

deenamw

Hello. What is soaking? How often do I need to do it? And what do I use to do it? How long do I need to do it? Please help I'm a Greek tortoise newbie.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
Hello. What is soaking? How often do I need to do it? And what do I use to do it? How long do I need to do it? Please help I'm a Greek tortoise newbie.

If you are soaking to make sure added hydration then you can do daily soaks in warm (not too warm) water...you can do it in a high sided plastic container that the tort can not walk out of...let the soak last for 20 to 30 minutes...keeping the water from getting too cool...and keeping an eye on the tort to make sure he does not flip...I like to place the tort in the container and then gently pour the water over the shell of the tort to abiut just where the neck comes out of the shell...also a tort may find this a good time to pee and ppop...so have a clean jug of warm water as well as a plce to dump the nasty water ..some torts will also try to climb as if to get out..not to worry they will eventually get into the groove...

deenamw

If you are soaking to make sure added hydration then you can do daily soaks in warm (not too warm) water...you can do it in a high sided plastic container that the tort can not walk out of...let the soak last for 20 to 30 minutes...keeping the water from getting too cool...and keeping an eye on the tort to make sure he does not flip...I like to place the tort in the container and then gently pour the water over the shell of the tort to abiut just where the neck comes out of the shell...also a tort may find this a good time to pee and ppop...so have a clean jug of warm water as well as a plce to dump the nasty water ..some torts will also try to climb as if to get out..not to worry they will eventually get into the groove...