Russian Travel Stress

TortsMaGoats

Location (City and/or State)
Ohio, USA
Greetings!

I am a high school science teacher and have a Russian tortoise for my classroom. I care very much about his health and well being. He seems to do fine in his tub - the students are good about not touching him and the noise levels in my room aren't out of hand.

My question: is it better for him stress-wise to leave him at the school over weekends, or should I set up a similar habitat at home and have him commute with me on the weekends? I would feel more comfortable having him with me, but I don't want to freak him out either. He is spending the summer with me right now, but I would like advice on what to do for the next school year.

Thanks!

Last edited:

mini_max

Alberta, Canada
Tough call! You can probably find ways to keep him fed for two days if he stays at school, and just make sure his home has no flip hazards.

I don't think taking him home is necessarily bad once and while. Especially if he lives with you all summer - the place won't be totally foreign. However, in and out of the cold in winter.....his health might inevitably be compromised.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I would bring him home. If you set up his enclosure at home like the one at school it shouldn't be too stressful on him. At any rate, he'll soon get used to the back and forth and it won't bother him.

Also, the lights and heat/air conditioning at school might not be on over the week-end.

Last edited:

WillTort2

5 Year Member
Russians can adapt very well in most cases, but each tortoise is different. When I go on vacation, I take my 5 Russians and put them in an unused room at my workplace. It's about a 30 minute drive and I find the best ways to pack them for travel varies from tort to tort. The more timid Russians I put in shoe boxes and place the lid on. The more curious ones I put in their soaking tub with about 2" of substrate in the bottom.