Russian tort always closing eyes

annster

5 Year Member
Seriously all the time... It almost looks painful... The eyes look fine but there's a TINY bit of discharge inside the eyelid. It almost seems as if she's got eye damage or something.

Location (City and/or State)
Wilkes Barre PA
Hey annster. I just got my Russian a few days ago. Through the hundreds of pages I've read through I seen a article about Russians that always seem to have their eyes closed is due to not enough humidity in their atsmophere .. I could be wrong. Like I said. I'm still new to torts myself. But I just wanted to pass on some of the stuff I read. Check it out. I'm sorry I can't pass along the link because I read page after page. But can't hurt to look. Good luck!

Wilkes Barre PA
Lismar.. I'm still a new tort owner too. I don't use coil heat lights but I have a coil uva/b bulb. Will that effect my tort?

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Lismar.. I'm still a new tort owner too. I don't use coil heat lights but I have a coil uva/b bulb. Will that effect my tort?

Yes, if it is the style in that link, it will most likely cause ill effects. There are several posts here on the forum about them. I have never used because of what others have said. Its too big of a risk. Get rid of it please!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California

There are no coil heat lights. Its the coil type UV lights that sometimes burn tortoise eyes.

Annster, If you do have that type of bulb PLEASE hang on to it. I will buy it from you and pay full shipping to get it to another member who works in a lab and wants to test it. We see problems with these bulbs sometimes and there is no large, well funded entity that has any interest in studying them, so we are trying to discover the problem ourselves. IF this is your issue, you could be a big help.

smarch

5 Year Member
Massachusetts