Russian or sulcata

Siraurelius

I'm new to the whole herp lifestyle. I have been researching for a while, but cannot decide on how to go about choosing a breed. My enclosure is 4' square with coir substrate and 1' high walls. I live in a smaller apartment but will move out to a larger space within two years. I also have room to expand my table as well. Is there any advice on which to get?

Attachments

• IMG_20170215_201455879.jpg
    IMG_20170215_201455879.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 22

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I'm new to the whole herp lifestyle. I have been researching for a while, but cannot decide on how to go about choosing a breed. My enclosure is 4' square with coir substrate and 1' high walls. I live in a smaller apartment but will move out to a larger space within two years. I also have room to expand my table as well. Is there any advice on which to get?

Hello and welcome.

That enclosure is to open for a sulcata. It will be too dry and the tortoise would outgrow it in a few months anyway. Its okay for a russian, but the walls need to be a little taller.

Check these out:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Siraurelius

Thank you. I live in northern indiana right now and i feel it will get too cold and the hatchling would need to hibernate. as it is set up now, the heated side gets to about 85 degrees F and the cool side stays around 65 or 70. Would this be a problem?

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada
Definitely Russian. A smaller apartment in a cold climate makes a sulcata too impractical. A Russian will be much better suited to your space and the enclosure you've made already. Those temperatures are okay for a Russian (although your basking spot is too cool), but would not work for a sulcata (the lows are much too low for a hatchling sulcata).

Siraurelius