Russian just laid two eggs. (updated-egg broke)

loverlyskye

5 Year Member
Hello, my Russian just laid eggs and I'm new to the incubation process. I have them in moist coconut fiber, in little containers. I marked them and did not move them. The temp in the incubator looks to be around 85. I'd like it to be 80 so I turned it down. I have the water tray full. is there anything else I need to do or should do?

nate.mann

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Glendale, Arizona, USA
Russian just laid two eggs.

you should leave it at 85, people keep some batches at 89 to raise the chances of the eggs having females. but 86 is pretty much perfect for both sexes to be produced.

0.1.0 Russian Tortoise
0.0.1 Leopard Tortoise
Chive On!

biochemnerd808

10 Year Member!
Central Arkansas (we moved!)
RE: Russian just laid two eggs.

Congrats, and how exciting!

85 is just about perfect. I'd also put a few little containers of water into the incubator. That way the humidity will be a little higher, and it also helps the temperatures to stay more stable.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
RE: Russian just laid two eggs.

In addition to the above, you should PM GBTortoises. The man has hatched many russians over many years and really knows his stuff.

loverlyskye

5 Year Member
Russian just laid two eggs.

Thank you all for the help. I'm soo excited. I have the temp set so it keeps it around 84 right now. Right now the bottom tray has about a half cup of water. I plan to put a container in there but I have to find one. Everything is good so far.

loverlyskye

5 Year Member
Tortoise eggs

My tortoise eggs have been in the incubator for almost a moth and I see no signs of development. Should I wait it out?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
RE: Tortoise eggs

I have no experience with tort eggs. However, I have read quite a few times on here to wait it out, and members have been very glad they did.