Rescued tort

Leukloki

Location (City and/or State)
Honey brook
hey guys,
I'm new to torts but run a rescue out my home for animals. Just received this tort and I believe it's a female Russian tort. I'd love conformation on that.
Either way she has a vet apt next week but I'd like to know what I can do for her now... her shell is really deformed and seems like it hasn't shed properly in a while.
She's eating really well, I soaked her once for half an hour,but not sure what else to do. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I plan on keeping her. I have read the beginners guides on here as well as the common mistakes pages.
I think her toenails are long but I'm not sure... let me know what your thinking! Thank you! IMG_8610.JPGIMG_8611.JPGIMG_8614.JPGIMG_8615.JPGIMG_8616.JPGIMG_8618.JPG

Eduardo Hernandez

Orange County, California
Definitely a Russian! Looks female to me. Her nails are a good length, they actually seem somewhat small to me, as they need long nails to help dig. I don't think they really shed their shell, it just looks like a lot of new growth really fast. Most likely the previous owners got it from a pet store (wild caught) and fed her like crazy lol.

Leukloki

Honey brook
Ok good! So the deep ridges aren't an issue? She has them on the top and bottom...

Leukloki

Honey brook
Yea the bottom was the real surprise to me. Thank you for responding! And so quick, I really appreciate it! Gerti is currently eating some hibiscus :) and happily running around my house lol

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Newport Coast, CA
Welcome to the forum!

I think that's just the result very fast growth on the top shell. In the wild she grew more slowly over time and with a lumpier, bumpier, and darker shell as a result. The smooth lighter colored growth is from a constant (possibly heavy!) supply of food.

I don't know about the ridges (cracks, kind of?) on the bottom. I'm not saying they are problematic, I guess I've just never looked at mine.