Please help me identify this :(

glitch4200

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW suburbs of Chicago
So about 20 minutes ago my russian tortoise pooped something really odd and I believe there is some blood too. It's not the normal calcium deposit I believe he rids every so often. I'm sorry it's kinda graphic but I am really confused. I can explain my routine and feeding but I have never seen this much before and the way that it is..it's like almost fleshy
. this is what I am talking about

Abdulla6169

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Dubai/New York
I believe you put too much calcium. Just a light sprinkle 2-3 times a week :) and did you feed dandelion recently?

glitch4200

5 Year Member
NW suburbs of Chicago
I have never had this issue though and I have been feeding for about a 3 months with a variation of escarole and endive and any other tortoise friendly store bought item. Obviously the bag is to supplement things he needs

Abdulla6169

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Dubai/New York
Is this the herbal hay from tortoise supply?

glitch4200

5 Year Member
NW suburbs of Chicago
Yes and I only use calcium 1 to 2 times a week it has d3 cuz he doesn't get out into the sun that often unfortunately..

glitch4200

5 Year Member
NW suburbs of Chicago
No I have not fed him dandelion store bought leaves recently although the herbal mix does I believe and I sprinkle a little on his food each day

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I don't know what it is, but I'd be so curious to find out that I'd preserve it in alcohol and take it to the vet.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Eating dandelion COLORS the urine and urates, but eating dandelion does NOT make a semi-solid-looking mass like what is in this picture. This has nothing to do with dandelion.

glitch4200

5 Year Member
NW suburbs of Chicago