OVER SOAKING?

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Medford Oregon
i soak my sulcata and russians every day for 20-30 minutes. is there such thing as over soaking?

every day is a bit much i'd go 3-4 times a week depending on how big younger they are the more you soak
When the water gets cold you over soaked!

i can't really go by this because i change the water when it starts to go cold lol water can cool down pretty quickly

Zeko

5 Year Member
Soak mine twice a day. The intestinal track of a tortoise is quite long and I would be quite surprised if this has any negative impact.

And if I remember my anatomy paper, the Small Intestine of a tortoise is where most nutrients are taken from the food. The rest of the Long Intestine is mainly for getting every ounce of liquid squeezed out of the poop.

Prairie Mom

I'm totally new at this and will happily admit if I'm wrong, but it's hard for me to imagine that soaking every day is "too much soaking." I don't believe my young sulcata drinks and self-soaks enough and have paid attention the gritty consistency of her urates the same way you have. I give her good long soaks and constantly check to make sure her water temp is warm enough (she seems to like it pretty warm/hot), so I'll swap out her water to keep it toasty. She sprawls her legs and relaxes like she's in a hot tub:) and she eats really well after her soaks. I soak her EVERY single day without fail. Because my climate is extremely dry and windy, I have also been known to soak her 2X. -If she's been out a long time in the dry wind, I've been known to give her another shorter soak on the way back inside.

Also, my sulcata poops very grassy/leafy stools. It shocked me when I first got her and her health was improving. I was told that those kind of stools are desirable...http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/holy-grass-poop-was-this-normal.102807/

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA