Newbie with dalmatian hermann's tortoise

Jazzbell772

Well I didn't realize how much I didn't know until coming to this website. I have a new tortoise which I only got 3 days ago. I believe she may be about 6 months old only because someone else in the forum got theirs around the same time. I have her in a 10 gallon tank right now with a strip light and a heat mat under the tank. I take her outside everyday for some more exercise and to eat some clovers. We are going to be building an outdoor enclosure so it may be a few months until she is out of the tank. She doesn't move around much in there and I guess she's bored but what else can I do other than our trips outside until the new enclosure. I have some timothy hay in the tank and have started soaking her more often after reading the posts. I am thinking once a day should be enough? I haven't noticed any poop yet but she's still new and doesn't seem too stressed but she may very well be. I am a veterinary technician but we don't deal with reptiles. I have only ever owned red eared sliders so this is a whole new ball game. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! First I would suggest a larger enclosure. My questions are what are the humdity and temperatures right at her level in the enclosure? Is that a UVB light and how long do you have it on each day?

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello and welcome to the TFO from AZ. The tort needs a bigger enclosure then 10gal tank . But good luck. .

Pittrock

Hi Jazbell!! Welcome! I recently purchased my Dalmatian from TortoiseSupply also. My advice would be to get the baby a Rubbermaid container - fairly large with a ReptiSun (or equivalent) combo UVB/heat bulb - get a timer set for 12hrs/day - Amazon is the cheapest. Mine tends to bury himself a lot so I make sure he gets direct sun at least a few times/wk for about 20min and daily soaks.