Newbie to tortoises

Status
Not open for further replies.

h2turtle

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
:(Hi, I am new to all of this. I have been wanting to get a tortoise but unsure of what species would be right for me. I don't want a VERY large tortoise. I have been reading up on everything and I am very confused . I live in NC and for the most part have high temperatures year round. Any suggestions? I really need help!!!:(:(

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Redlands, CA
howdy and welcome to TFO!
read up and see what you think about russian tortoises. they are very hardy and don't get very big. they also tend to have great personalities which make people fall for them.
read a couple threads in our russians forum for more info and photos

h2turtle

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Well I have another question.... I looked in that forum on Russians but I have some simple questions.
I currently live in a condo/apartment. Would I be able to keep it inside, like in a bedroom??? I wouldn't want to leave him outside on account of the local teenagers running around outside.
Also, all in all, are tortoises a kind of laid back pet? In anyone's opinion, is it simple to have a tortoise?

Any additional/helpful information will be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks again!

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Redlands, CA
with the right setup and equipment, you could easily keep a russian indoors and let him outside during supervised 'outings'. how much space do you have available?
tortoises are 'laid back' in that they don't require as much attention as a dog or cat but they do require daily maintenance and lots of love!

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA