Newbie here.

ralph113

Bought my first Russian tortoise. Did all the research. Diets, lighting, bedding, and all that goodies. So i got him from the package and he has doo doo all over his belly. since he is new, should i wait a bit before washing him? hes already running around burrowing messing up the joint, i dont want to scare him.

ralph113

First thing you wanna do is soak a new tortoise in Luke warm water for about 20-30 minutes

its not gna scare him? if not i will still give him a break tonight after all that delivery. i shall soak him on warm water tomorrow. what brush can i use?

PJay

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia
its not gna scare him? if not i will still give him a break tonight after all that delivery. i shall soak him on warm water tomorrow. what brush can i use?
It's important to soak a new tortoise because you don't know how long it's been since the last soak, and they may have lost some moisture content during shipping. Like @cmac3 said, the first thing you should do is soak the tortoise as soon as you get it. Then you can let it dig down and hide for a while and recover from the stress. You get to start off with the best care possible on your part. I use SOFT bristled toothbrushes on my shells.

ralph113

It's important to soak a new tortoise because you don't know how long it's been since the last soak, and they may have lost some moisture content during shipping. Like @cmac3 said, the first thing you should do is soak the tortoise as soon as you get it. Then you can let it dig down and hide for a while and recover from the stress. You get to start off with the best care possible on your part. I use SOFT bristled toothbrushes on my shells.

Roger that.doing it now

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco

ralph113

Hello, Ralph, and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum. :)
We'd love to see photos.