New Tortoise Carer

Andrea Nicole

Location (City and/or State)
Alpharetta, GA
Hi, I'm Andrea and I recently got two redfoot tortoises, Dash and Speedy! Dash is a little bit smaller than Speedy, but they are both around 4 inches. I received them because I am apart of the FFA vet program at my high school and they had nowhere to go for the summer; however, as you can tell I am not that experienced! I just want to make sure they get the best care they can while they are here. Thank you in advance!

IMG_4835.jpg Dash!

IMG_4836.jpg Speedy!

Last edited by a moderator:

Andrea Nicole

Alpharetta, GA
Thank you guys!
After browsing through, I found things about how housing tortoises in pairs can be bad for them. Since these two share an enclosure will that cause an issue? This is how they have always been housed and it hasn't caused any problems that I am aware of.

surfergirl

Welcome to the TFO!
Glad to see the FFA in Ga working on Tortoise programs! I was in Ag in Texas during my HS years and we focused on Cattle, Sheep, Hogs, Chickens but never had an opportunity to foster Tortoises. we missed out.

Someone who has RF tortoises will chime in shortly with a caresheet. etc. there is so much information to explore on here one cannot get bored..

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Thank you guys!
After browsing through, I found things about how housing tortoises in pairs can be bad for them. Since these two share an enclosure will that cause an issue? This is how they have always been housed and it hasn't caused any problems that I am aware of.

Hello and welcome. Yes it is a problem to house them as a pair. Tortoises should not be housed in pairs. They don't like it, even when there is no obvious overt bullying. It is very stressful on them. They should be separated.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Andrea, and welcome to the Forum!