New to sulcata tortoises and this site need help

Adam775

So i got a baby Sulcata 2 days ago and so far he is good as far as i can tell, i have him in a 40 gallon tank meant for desert animals, i have the light that produces uv and i have a lamp for the day and the red one that i turn on for the night. I have a small water dish as i heard they sometimes like to go and soak, and i have a big piece of wood in case he wanted to go into there. He sleeps alot but i do see him moving and he is eating just fine, ive been feeding him little amounts of romaine lettuce with his tortoise food spread over top as he wont eat it by itself and i cant get him to eat hay or grass. He sleeps but not in his shell he kinda just sprawl's out. I keep the temps at between 80-90 during the day on one side with one side between 70-80. at night i turn on his red light and it dips to the 70s. Any suggestions, im new to this and want to do my best

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern California, bay area
welcome to the forum! 1. baby sulcatas hatch during the wet season, there is puddles everywhere and humidity is high and even during the dry season they spend a lot of there time in deep moist burrows in the ground. enclosure humidity should be at 80%+. 2. soak him everyday in a tub of water water for 30 minutes. 3. do not lets the temps go down past 80 during the night and his basking spot should be around 95. 4. baby sulcatas do not eat hay, feed him/her nontoxic weeds from outside with fresh grasses cut up real small. 5. red lights damage tortoises eyes replace it with a ceramic heat emitter light, they need to sleep in the dark. read this entire care sheet. http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.79895/ please post pics of the enclosure and the tortoise so we can see if its all good. are you using a coil bulb? whats the cage humidity?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club