New to cherry heads. Babies might have shell rot?

threeheadedshadow

5 Year Member
I am new to the world of cherry heads and bought a couple of babies in mid November. Well today as I was feeding them I was inspecting their shells and the bottom of the shells are worrying me. They are dark and looks like they are pitting. Wanted to confirm shell rot so I can start treatment.

They are in a plastic tote with coco fiber soil and sphagnum moss. I mist it 2-3 times daily to keep humidity up. I think that is the issue so i am going to put them in a 60 gallon tank with a solid lid and switch to cypress mulch to maintain humidity w/o having the sub-straight as moist.

They also have a ceramic heat light to help keep temps up, a UVB florecent bulb, and a repti basking sun lamp.

Any insight on what to do to make them better is appreciated. Thanks

ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1450662373.657924.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1450662386.283454.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Are you keeping them on wet substrate? The Reds/Cherry need a high humidity but with the top layer of substrate dry as they are prone to shell rot and fungus. This usually can be accomplished by pour warm water into the corners, wetting the bottom layers. I can't tell by the pics, doesn't really lol like rot, maybe a start of fungus? Get them on dry top layer and you can put some anti fungal cream on them in case it is a start of either.

threeheadedshadow

5 Year Member
The top layer doesn't stay wet that much. It dries out pretty fast from the ceramic heater. I have a humidity hide with sphagnum moss that is relatively moist. They spend a lot of their time in there. I will take some pics.

threeheadedshadow

5 Year Member
Okay thanks. I will get some fungal cream and move them to the bigger enclosure tomorrow with the cypress mulch. Hopefully that will help.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club