New member, new tortoise

Taloan

Hi!

I am new to tortoises and I thought a forum would be a good place to turn to for info/advice. I just got a female greek tortoise today after doing a lot of reading of care guides. My girl is named Thermopylae and she is about 5 inches long. I was wondering if anyone had any idea of how old she might be. The best the pet store could do was tell me she had been there for "a while" whatever that means. I also wanted to make sure people thought she was a greek tortoise. Any observations, advice, thoughts appreciated! Thanks! IMG_1704.JPG

Location (City and/or State)
Southeast USA
It's about 1-3 years old. Are you sure it's a female? If it's a male it might be older because the males are smaller. Anyway, that looks more like a Russian, but it has the colors and texture of a Greek. Maximum size is 8 inches, and males get about 7 inches.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
That is a Russian. It's probably more like 8-10 years and most likely wild caught. Russians in pet stores usually are older and wild caught.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
It's about 1-3 years old. Are you sure it's a female? If it's a male it might be older because the males are smaller. Anyway, that looks more like a Russian, but it has the colors and texture of a Greek. Maximum size is 8 inches, and males get about 7 inches.
This Russian is not small enough to be one to three, unless it had a really hard life. All signs of an adult. Most from pet stores are adults and wild caught.

Southeast USA
Really? That's weird. I would assume it would be 1-3 years because by at least 20 years it should be max size. Of course this is a huge assumption by me

Taloan