Need expert opinions please...

Dave S.

Location (City and/or State)
Huntington Beach, California
Hi All.
I have an opportunity to adopt this desert tortoise from a nearby shelter and was wondering if you see any thing wrong with him in this pic. The adoption lady says he’s about the size of a dinner plate(?), Male, Fully grown and not a fan of dogs.
He’s newly acquired from the Humane Society and hasn’t been to a vet to her knowledge.
Attached pic to this email.
Any opinions, observations ASAP, would be greatly appreciated as my deadline to pick him up is this Saturday morning. Newbie here.
Thank you.
-Dave S.
DTPic.jpg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Looks fine to me, but how close to the coast are you? They get sick and die with cold clammy coastal weather. They do better with hot and dry as adults living outside.

Dave S.

Luckily, I live pretty close to the beach(from a human perspective). An old neighbor had a DT and it seems to flourish ok here. They moved away a few years ago and I never saw if it had outdoor housing or not. I did tortoise sit for them and it was brought to my backyard for the week when I watched it. They did have a wooden box for it but no heat laps, etc. It was summer as I recall.
Am going to build an outdoor house for him for sure. Any recommendations on that?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Luckily, I live pretty close to the beach(from a human perspective). An old neighbor had a DT and it seems to flourish ok here. They moved away a few years ago and I never saw if it had outdoor housing or not. I did tortoise sit for them and it was brought to my backyard for the week when I watched it. They did have a wooden box for it but no heat laps, etc. It was summer as I recall.
Am going to build an outdoor house for him for sure. Any recommendations on that?