My Sulcata's Carapace

Wren

Location (City and/or State)
Palmerton,PA
Hi everyone, newbie here. I recently acquired an eight year old Sulcata from a private owner who got him as a hatchling. He doesn't seem to have much pyramiding on his carapace, but the central "row" has a weird line around it -- almost looks like it could raise up like the hood of a car. Previous owner said his small dog bit him when he was just a little guy. You can see the asymmetrical section, middle row, second from bottom, in the photo. Previous owner says it doesn't affect his health or movement in any way. I don't know if the two anomalies are related. Opinions please.

IMG_0643.JPG

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
That's a beautiful shell!

The outline you're referring to is the more recent growth. It looks to be very dry. You can lubricate it with either extra virgin olive oil or cold pressed coconut oil. Dab on the oil with a Q-tip and allow it to soak in for a half hour or so, then polish it all off with an absorbent cloth.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
Looks like a nice tortoise and the old damage is well healed and will be no problem at all.

The new growth does look like it is coning in with a deeper groove. That looks like it is being kept drier now than it used to be. Perhaps you could check the sulcata section and go over how you are keeping your tortoise. What type heat you are providing, what type enclosure, etc. I suspect something you may be doing now is drying the carapace excessively.

Wren

Palmerton,PA
That's a beautiful shell!

The outline you're referring to is the more recent growth. It looks to be very dry. You can lubricate it with either extra virgin olive oil or cold pressed coconut oil. Dab on the oil with a Q-tip and allow it to soak in for a half hour or so, then polish it all off with an absorbent cloth.