My New Baby Hermann's Tortoise

Smiller515

Location (City and/or State)
Buffalo, New York
Hi everyone! I am a newbie Hermann's Tortoise owner, however I'm not entirely new to tortoises. The little guy I have now is three months old, and his name is Scooter. At first I wasn't sure what to call him, but after watching him cruise around for the first time- I couldn't have picked a more fitting name :)

I had a rough experience with my first tortoise, a baby Greek named Tiny Tim, who was sick from the time I got him. As a new tortoise owner I did my best research but I didn't know that his habits were not normal from the start. He came to me extremely dehydrated and no matter what I did with daily warm soaks, and watching him drink water, and keeping his tank humid. I felt helpless. I couldn't get him to gain weight, even though he was eating daily- and after two weeks I took him to the vet.

The vet said he was shipped to me at a small size and that he was dehydrated and had a respiratory infection. We discussed husbandry- plastic Rubbermaid tub- coconut coir and reptibark substrate, access to clean water, and tank temps ranged from 90 in basking area, 80s range on warm side and 74 on the cooler side with humid hide.

Despite my greatest efforts, and multiple trips to the vet, we were unable to help him through it.

It's been a few months and this time around I attended the Buffalo Reptile Expo where I chose my new guy Scooter. Right from the start he was a completely different tortoise! He is healthy and thriving amd I am so happy to have gotten him from a reputable source who could answer my questions!

Although my little guy is doing well, I am still a bit paranoid because of my last experience. I have had him for a week now and I'm trying not to be so worried about every little thing, but hopefully in time I will be able to relax a bit! I appreciate everyone's suggestions and advice for keeping this little tort happy and healthy. Thank you!

JoesMum