Moving Russians outside

swatsx

5 Year Member
At what temp is it safe to move my Russians outside? Right now it's 60s day but still gets to 40s at night

Franco F

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New York, New York
I'm not an expert like some of the great individuals on this forum (and I'm relatively new so take everyone else's advice over mine), but I would say wait until the temperature is persistently above 70 degrees at night

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Newport Coast, CA
They come from a pretty harsh climate and tolerate lower temperatures than many other tortoises.

Inside, a night temperature of 65 degrees is a common recommendation.

Ours is taken out of hibernation when night temps reach the mid fifties. Her heated night box is kept at 65 but she occasionally digs down outside for the night. I don't worry about it unless it's raining.

Let's see what more experienced owners have to say, though.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
It doesn't need to be one or the other.

Put them out during the day when its warm and sunny, and bring them in at night to avoid the cold.

Once night temps start dipping below 55-60, they start to lose appetite and go into a sort of hibernation state while they wait for warmer weather.

We have cold nights here, but warm days, so I came up with this to extend my fall, and get them out earlier in spring:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/heating-an-outdoor-russian-night-box.116180/#post-1077261

I don't keep them "warm" at night. Just 60-65. Then they can come out and warm up in the sun during the day. This system worked well for me all year long. I hibernated them all in winter, indoors in a fridge.

Kornjaca