Mazuri torotise diet LS

j156ghs

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Vail Colorado
I couldn't find the usual (plain old, I guess) Mazuri brand at my local store but there was new reformulated version called Mazuri tortoise diet LS, and the ingredients list included "dried apple pomace," which is new to me. I've been feeding my Hermann's this version for a couple months -- along with other items, both pellets and fresh food, and notice his feces has increased in size since and now sometimes he acts as though he's trying to swallow but having trouble; this gag-like reflex goes away within a couple minutes though. I did call the vet, and she reminded me his last fecal sample showed some pin worms but that these are often present in this species. I'm taking him in for an exam, of course, but thought I'd post this and see what others might think, given the depth of cumulative experience on this list, and in case this information/observation might be of value to someone else. Thanks!

j156ghs

5 Year Member
Vail Colorado
After my experience with LS, I won't use it again, ever. (My original post last year told of how my Hermann's got impacted. I had him for four years, and it was only after feeding him LS that he got sick and died. Coincidence? Can't really say. Also, I was doing the same thing that someone else who replied is doing: crushing LS and mixing it with other products that he did like. In retrospect, I don't think that was smart. If a tortoise doesn't like something, don't disguise it with things he does like. My little guy might still be alive today if I hadn't done that.)