M.E.P. Plants

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcollins6

5 Year Member
Hey! I'm setting up my 40 gal aquarium and trying to get plants in it now, so that they are established by the time I decide to get the little guy.

What are some inside plants that will be good for food/space filler?

Also should I get a mister for the aquarium?

currently my substrate is sphagnum moss/cypress mulch mixed. I'm going to put a bottom layer of normal dirt for the plants.

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Iowa
I would not suggest live plants in a MEP enclosure. They are very rough on plants. Your substrate is the same as mine as I have been using since 2007. I keep alocassia and colacassia in pots as houseplants and harvest leaves to feed them. I would suggest deep substrate, an appriate size hide, and wading/soaking pool. If you don't already have the tank I would suggest tub instead as it will quickly outgrow a 40L.

mcollins6

5 Year Member
I was able to find a very cheap aquarium so I have it already. The aquarium makes it a little easier for the 5.0 tube light that I was advised to buy. Currently I only have a pothos in one end of the aquarium that I got for really cheap so if the little guy tears it up that's fine.
I will be building an outdoor enclosure when I feel this is getting too small. Hoping that it will last a year or two though.

algoroth1

5 Year Member
South Florida
mcollins6 said:
Hey! I'm setting up my 40 gal aquarium and trying to get plants in it now, so that they are established by the time I decide to get the little guy.

What are some inside plants that will be good for food/space filler?

Also should I get a mister for the aquarium?

currently my substrate is sphagnum moss/cypress mulch mixed. I'm going to put a bottom layer of normal dirt for the plants.