Looking Advice (what kind of tortoise)

Sabrina

Location (City and/or State)
Gorham, Maine
I have been considering getting a tortoise for a few years and I have recently made the decision to start getting ready to buy one. I would love to hear all of your tips on owning one! What would you suggest for habitat, diet, and the actual breeder itself? I'm open to the breed of tortoise!

Thank you
Sabrina

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, Sabrina!

In my opinion, where you live (climate) should determine what species of tortoise you start with. People from all kinds of climates all over the world keep all kinds of tortoises, but I think a beginner keeper needs to start with a tortoise that does well in your climate. Once you get that experience under your belt, you can branch out and get something else.

phebe121

Hi i love my leopard torts they cute and friendly easy to feed im still new to them myslef but i love them

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Yep, tell us where you live and how much space you have for both indoor and outdoor setups.

Welcome to TFO and tortoise ownership. Torts are awesome creatures!

0.0.1 Redfoot (Spike)
0.0.1 Cherryhead Redfoot (Bruce Wayne)
1.0 Sulcata (Hal Jordan)

Abdulla6169

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Dubai/New York
Welcome! I hope you find the perfect tortoise :D

Yellow Turtle01

5 Year Member
OH, USA
I completely agree with Yvonne! What type of tort you get can be heavily influenced by your weather.
So you live in Maine, right? I don't know A BUNCH about the weather there, but I do know you guys have cold winters and shorterish summers.
IMHO, I wouldn't get a sulcata there, because that's a while to house a big 100+ tort inside somewhere... I'm dreading winter here just a little because I don't know how it's going to go :confused: