Is it okay to keep tortoises in pairs?

Sherrythetortoise

Location (City and/or State)
Oman
so I have two small tortoises, one herman's male, and a spur thighed female
I'm new to tortoises world though
So I used to keep them together but then I was told that it's not ok to keep them in pairs
It may cause stress/ illness
So I never kept them together since then
But today I got them out of their houses and let them walk
Then they saw each other and they seem to miss each, he was sniffing her and following her
They seem to like each other but im not sure tho

So I wanted to know if it's ok that they can see each other from time to time or the tortoises in general seem to not like other tortoises o_O

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
so I have two small tortoises, one herman's male, and a spur thighed female
I'm new to tortoises world though
So I used to keep them together but then I was told that it's not ok to keep them in pairs
It may cause stress/ illness
So I never kept them together since then
But today I got them out of their houses and let them walk
Then they saw each other and they seem to miss each, he was sniffing her and following her
They seem to like each other but im not sure tho

So I wanted to know if it's ok that they can see each other from time to time or the tortoises in general seem to not like other tortoises o_O
Welcome to the forum!

Torts do not like "company" if so I may call it. Bullying may begin.

Are you sure that one is a male and the other a female?

Please post pics of your torts asap. Give them daily soaks in warm water so as to avoid dehydration & pyramiding, particularly if you live in a country where the climate is a dry one.

Sherrythetortoise

Oman
Thanks for the quick replay
Yeah I'm pretty sure they're a male and female
Not sure if have a clear pic rn
But I'll post anyways

Sherrythetortoise

Oman
The first one is the male and the second is the female

Attachments

• IMG_1073.JPG
    IMG_1073.JPG
    953.4 KB · Views: 53