How Can I Obtain Fertile Eggs for Hatching?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathy L

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Central Coast of California
I am a teacher and every year I hatch something with my students. It has always been chickens or ducks, but I would LOVE to hatch tortoises. Any suggestions on where/how to get hatching eggs?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
You need to find somebody close to you that has breeding tortoises. I don't know for sure, but I've always heard you have about a one week window for moving the eggs, after which it becomes too risky to move them.

Have your incubator already set up and running for several days ahead of time to make sure the temp is right, day and night. When the breeder calls and tells you the female is digging the nest, get over there right away and retrieve your eggs. DO NOT ever let the eggs rotate or turn. They MUST always stay in the exact position and orientation as when they were laid and pulled out of the nest.

I'd give you some eggs if you were near me, so I'm sure that somebody up there will be willing.

Good luck. Great idea.

onarock

5 Year Member
Hawaii