Household fruits and veggies

Gus.

Newbie here,

So which is the best to feed a tortoise? Can I give him any fruit or veggie I happen to have around the house or there good & bad ones?

What do you recommend?

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Toronto, Canada
This depends on what species we are talking about. Tortoises that originate from different parts of the world have different diets (not surprisingly), so 'best' is relative. Once you know what species you are interested in, you can narrow down diet.

Korall

Sweden
Yeah, just like Sarah says. It depends. Some tortoises eat fruit, others don't.

Though, you should check out the tortoise plant database, it contains what is poisonous for tortoises at least.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Are you trying to decide on what type of tortoise would best suit you?
Think about the types of food you'll need for THAT species, how much room you can provide for it. Lighting, heating, etc.
I keep Redfoot outdoors because my climate in south Florida allows for it.
Keeping them here is much, much easier than keeping them in a colder climate. (A bonus for me)
The Redfoot tortoise has a very wide range of foods that it can eat that are mostly very easy to find or grow locally. It is the vacuum cleaner of the tortoise world.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Newbie here,

So which is the best to feed a tortoise? Can I give him any fruit or veggie I happen to have around the house or there good & bad ones?

What do you recommend?

Some of the forrest species can eat some fruit as a portion of their diet. Most tortoise species do best on a diet of broadleaf weeds and certain leaves and flowers of the right types. Some species, like sulcatas, benefit from a large percentage of grass in the diet.