Horse field tortoise diet help

Jazzle123

Hi, I am kinda new to having a tortoise and I believe he is about 5 years old. I would like some advise on his diet. When I got him I fed him a variety of foods but he went through a stage where he wouldn't eat for like two weeks, and now he will only eat iceberg lettuce. Do you guys have any advice how to get him to eat better foods as I try giving him little portions of new foods but he just leaves them untill they go old and I have to take them out. Also is he healthy, I have attached a pitcture of him.image.jpeg All help/advice is much appreciated :)

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Toronto, Canada
How long have you had him? Can you post photos of his enclosure? He doesn't look like the best cared for Russian I've seen.

He'll eat better food if you stop offering the iceberg lettuce. As long as he's warm enough and healthy enough, he won't starve. What kind of light are you using for basking and what temperature does it get at shell height?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

If you'll take a look at the bumpy quality of his shell, that's from being raised too dry and not getting the right diet and UVB. It's not life threatening, but it really will help for you to change the diet and add some moisture to his habitat. It also looks like his back leg is a little swollen, like water retention or something.

We have a good care sheet pinned at the top of our Russian section, and here's a bunch of food ideas for you:

Jazzle123

Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

If you'll take a look at the bumpy quality of his shell, that's from being raised too dry and not getting the right diet and UVB. It's not life threatening, but it really will help for you to change the diet and add some moisture to his habitat. It also looks like his back leg is a little swollen, like water retention or something.