Hi from Malaysia.. Need Help

cmnasrul89

Hi there... i am newbie here... my friend gave me a star tortoise last week because he knew that I love turtle and tortoise.. currently i own 3 RES turtle and 1 star turtle... today i put my star in water to let her poop.. she poop a lot and i notice that there is a red thing in her poop.. like a blood.. can anyone advise what should i do.. it is hard to find vet who know about tortoise around here .. please help me... i put the poop picture below.. sorry if it is disturbing

image.jpg image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

cmnasrul89

I got her on last sunday.. so far i feed her with salad... some times i put a few salad leaves before going to work.. her size is around 2.5".. can be that I over feed her? because her poop was long...

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

You stay here long enough, you'll come to realize we just love talking about and looking at pictures of POOP!!

I don't see what you're worried about in that poop.

cmnasrul89

I got her on last sunday.. so far i feed her with salad... some times i put a few salad leaves before going to work.. her size is around 2.5".. can be that I over feed her? because her poop was long...

Opss sorry.. it is lettuce actually.. since I got this tortoise by surprise, I do not have a proper preparation.. been doing research on their diet and habitat on this week...currently, I use paper as temporary bedding and feed her Romaine Lettuce every day.. I am thinking to use coconut pleat substrate as bedding.. do you think it is a good idea? or do you have any other suggestion. I will be going to reptile store tomorrow to get UVB light and other supplies.. Appreciate if you could give more suggestion on their Diet and Habitat before I go to pet store tomorrow....

cmnasrul89

Hi, and welcome to the Forum!