Hi everyone!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bubu

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello! I'm Bubu :)

I'm very new to tortoises, I don't have one yet but my boyfriend and I are thinking about it. We're just not sure what to get! He want's something that needs a big water area (like a red eared slider, which is a turtle right? Not a tortoise?) and I want one that can roam around my house, like a Russian or similiar. I've been looking at Russians and Sulcattas, I think I'd be better off with a russian, simply because Sulcattas get so big, but like I said we're just not sure yet. I currently live in Michigan but will be moving to Virginia soon, so we can't get anything yet (I have enough pets to transport lol) but I'm really looking forward to having one!

I've been trying to do some research on them, and thus far the only problems and confusion I've encountered is enclosures (how big it should be, what it should be, etc) and heating and lighting. So I hope to find my answers here! :D

And just a little bit about myself, I have a dog (who I can't take with me unfortunatly :( ), 3 hermit crabs, 3 guinea pigs, and about 30 or more fish. I like critters :D

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Iowa
Hello and welcome. Your question of turtle (aquatic) vs tortoise (terrestrial) concerns two different types of husbandry. Turtles would require large water area (I consider 100 gallons the minimum for one turtle) and heavy duty filtration system. For a small tortoise (i.e. testudo genus) I think a 24 square foot area the minimum. Of course both require appriate heat, lighting, and substrate. I don't think either should be allowed to wander the floor (one reason is neither housebreak and they get, the larger the mess). You have come to a great place for research and "pick'in brains".

wayne.bob

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
iowa
welcome. feel free to ask as many questions as you may have.

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA