Hi Everyone. I am new to the Tortoise world

Tuesday D'Eon

Location (City and/or State)
Mississauga, Ontario Canada
Hi, I am new to the Tortoise world planning on buying my first one . Would love any help. I am having a hard time deciding which one to buy as a beginner. I have had red sliders all my life. But fell in love with a Sulcata about a month ago.. I am also looking for one In the Toronto, Ontario area. Thanks for allowing me to become a member.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the forum!

If it were me, living in Canada, I wouldn't get a sulcata. It's pretty hard to keep them happy indoors. It would be like having a cow in your living room. Best to start with a smaller species, like a Russian or Greek.

Falcon70

10 Year Member!
North Carolina
Welcome! If you do decide to go with something other than a sulcata, many of us can attest how great Russians are!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). If your heart is set on a sulcata, and there are any available there in Canada, just be sure that you have the room and funds to build a big winter enclosure and to heat it.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Hello and welcome to the forum.
They let anyone join here you know. Lots of reprobates among our knowledgeable tortoise keepers.
It's the best place there is for getting up to date tortoise advice.
I'm an advocate of greeks myself, lovely, curious creatures which are comparatively small and easy to keep.
Whatever you decide, all the information and help you need is here.
Good luck.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Thanks everyone Thanks so much for the warm welcome. I fell in love with a Sulcata about a month ago. I should of said I am Looking for a Tortoise of any kind to start my new adventure just not sure which one to buy yet. I have a hobby and collect and rescue Sting rays.