Not open for further replies.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I had to make a special trip to the store for dog food, and when I went to open the driveway gate I saw something fluttering next to the tortoise dog house. Upon closer inspection, it's a little bat and it looks to be caught up in a spider web. So I got a stick to try to encourage it out of the web, but now it looks like maybe he has a broken arm? Have no idea if he's rabid. I'm not a wildlife expert. Wouldn't know how to euthanize it if I could. But I feel bad just leaving it there to starve to death.

bat a.jpg bat b.jpg

WithLisa

5 Year Member
Austria
No don't kill it, Bats need to drop to fly so help it get high enough to take flight.
It's arm looks broken on the second picture... :(

Yvonne, is there no veterinary office in your city you could call? I would use gloves and take it to a vet.

Momof4

10 Year Member!
San Diego
Any luck?
My sister had one in her RV and she took a dish towel and grab it.

daniellenc

Maryland
We had an infestation in my attic years ago that would find their way in the house......needless to say I got really good at catch and release lol. They are docile and not biters. Just scoop him up and toss him out. If he's hurt your local humane society probably knows a rescue.

ColleenT

Lehigh Valley Pa

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
That is a horrible thing to say. i was a bat rehabber. Bats are exreemely beneficial. go to Batworld.com to help an injured or orphaned bat.
Hmmm.
Batworld.com is a Business Automation Innovating Solutions company. I don't think it would be of much help in rehabbing bats.
If you mean batworlds.com then it's a lovely site full of information on bats, but I can't find the rescue or rehab help section.
Other people managed to have an opposite opinion to mine without engaging in personal attacks.