Hello from Sunny Florida!

Valerie0426

My name is Valerie. I moved from NC to FL 5 yrs ago & met love of my life. We have 2 male chihuahuas (Rico & Suave), pair of Lovebirds had baby in July (Velvet & Shamrock), & couple of Russian torts (Boris & Natasha). I had wanted torts for a long time, got them from locally owned pet shop. Yes, I am a beginner with the Russians. Here are my babies!ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1469980815.777470.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1469980904.975773.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1469980921.093805.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1469980934.146979.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1469980952.052214.jpg

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO @Valerie0426 :)

I will start with the good news that TFO has several experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the Internet and from many pet stores and, sadly, from some breeders and vets about the best way to care for your species.

Please take the time to read these as they will help you get things right

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Pictures of the enclosure and lighting will help us to help you :)

Then I have to pass on the not so good news that Tortoises are solitary creatures that don't need, want or particularly like company. Russians, both sexes, are particularly territorial and see another as competition for food and territory. Their fights can be very nasty. You need to plan to keep your two separately - see this as a typical example

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...together-a-lesson-learned-the-hard-way.94114/

Also, we have had several cases of dogs treating torts as chew toys. Please don't let your dogs near them.

Last edited:

Valerie0426