Hello everyone I am very new to this as I have I

mrs Robinson

Hi folks I need some help I have inherited a Herman tortoise and am clueless as to how to look after him /her I am scared to death of doing something wrong and hurting it especially as I no nothing about hibernation or anything else so any advice would be welcome xx

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
Hello, and welcome to the forum. I don't keep Hermans, but a good place to start is in the species specific section.

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Newport Coast, CA
Welcome to the forums; you've come to the right place!

Here is an introductory care sheet: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...rospective-or-beginner-tortoise-owners.22635/

Take a look at the "Beginner's Mistakes" thread here: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Also the Hermann's care sheet mentioned by Jodie: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/

This is a lot of information to digest; don't worry, you don't have to figure everything out at once.

Housing is the first concern. Is your tortoise currently inside or outside? How is it housed?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

What size is your new Hermanns?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. You don't have to hibernate it. If you want to take this first year to learn all you need to know, learn about him/her, making sure all is good and there is no problems with him or her then that's okay and unless you know everything about his past health, it's best to not hibernate the first year of ownership.

mrs Robinson

He is housed in a hutch at the minute in a insulated shed (it's my crafting shed) so not a old grotty one he seems very well no idea of any history but does seem to have stopped eating as much xx

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England