Hello all

Avery Kays

Location (City and/or State)
PA
Hello everyone. I'm new to all of this so any help will be appreciated. I found a male box turtle yesterday and any tips on how to care for him would be great. :)

Avery Kays

PA
Just wanted to show you all what my beautiful eastern box turtle looks like. Please comment. :) IMG_5222.JPG

Avery Kays

PA
I just got a box turtle on friday and I really need help on what to feed him and how much to feed him. He loves worms but he won't eat lettuce or cantaloupe. Is that a bad thing that he has food references? Also, some people say that you should feed your turtle the same size as their head. But my turtle has a very small head and a big appetite. Please help.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Let him eat up all the worms he wants.....they are very fond of meat vs greens....you may want to search the forum search for boxie diet....also search that forum to see who directly houses this species and perhaps send them a request for conversation and get their input...

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
You can also let nightcrawlers and other bugs loose in their enclosure...this way he can hunt as well....

johnsonnboswell

5 Year Member
Beautiful! Where did you find him? It would be best if you did not keep him but released him back into the wild & the gene pool, and adopted an unreleasable turtle instead. Or does habitat destruction makes this impossible?

Tell us more and we'll help you.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

Eastern box turtles are protected in Pennsylvania. You should put it back where you found it.

474158gy04azrh2x.gif

terryo

10 Year Member!
Staten Island, New York