give property to my tortoise? has this been done?

Robertchrisroph

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ukiah Ca.
Hello and good day. I am about to move my king over to our little piece of dirt on earth. (when it warms this spring). This year I will be burning our mortgage papers. Weeee. since my king has longer then I, can I put the property in his name and give to him? I do thank you all. have a great day

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
I am not an expert, but I would have to say no. Animmals don't have property rights. When you see animals inheriting stuff, it is usually given to a care giver who then takes care off said animal, after the owner dies.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I doubt it, unless you also named someone as say a co-owner that would take care of the tortoise and the land. However, you would have to ask a. Attorney. There is probably a way. Let us know what you find out and CONGRATS ON THE MORTGAGE BURNING. You should video it:D

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA
Just for example you would put me in your will, that I get your propety upon your death, as long as the tortoise is cared for.

dmmj

10 Year Member!
CA
I am actually in someone's will. I take care of the tortoises he has, I get the property upon his death. It is a bunch of desert tortoises, and a sulcata, so I agreed to it, I planned on taking care of his animals anyways, I have known him for many years.

Prairie Mom

I agree with everything being said here. I've been researching this topic a bit too, as we think about our children and new pet that hopefully will out live us.

Just to reiterate what everyone else has said so nicely...