Garden chat & photos for torts and people ♫ ♫

Prairie Mom

Hi guys,
I'm relatively new to gardening and absolutely love it. I love providing food for my family, and growing food for my tortoise to enjoy is one of the highlights of keeping these amazing animals.

@Blake m and I were chatting about gardens and wanted to share pictures. I found a few garden threads, but wasn't sure if they were still being actively used. I also didn't want to take over:), so I thought I'd go ahead and post some of my gardening exploits and INVITE ANYONE AND EVERYONE TO DO THE SAME!

I love gardens and am interested in anything from balcony pots, great looking shrubs, and beautiful fields. Feel free to take over this thread and remember to share some of your goodies on @littleginsu 's trading goodies thread: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/trading-goodies.87084/

Happy Growing!

Prairie Mom

I live in a cold Northern perennial zone 4. My growing season is very short and most people use greenhouses as season extenders, rather than keeping them growing through the cold months. I don't have a greenhouse, but have been experimenting with starting seeds under grow lights more and more. We hope to expand our light set up this winter and want to experiment with growing a few full grown vegetables indoors.

Here's a photo I took last Spring. I'm hardening off my first batch of seedlings to head to the garden.
DSCN5641.JPG

Tyanna

Location (City and/or State)
Wisconsin
I don't have any photos of mine ATM, but I had a small 4x4 raised garden bed with lots of tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers. It was my first season growing!

Can't wait until summer comes again, then I can grow tons of stuff for my tortoise, since I didn't have him in time to grow stuff for him last summer.

I am growing seed mixes and pansies (soon) in my enclosure.

@Prairie Mom I LOVE your little garden. Growing indoors is pretty fun!

Blakem

10 Year Member!
California