Fighting tortoises?

leahheseltine

uploadfromtaptalk1429603666257.jpgHey, I'm very new to keeping tortoises and have recently bought 2 baby horsefield tortoises, which the (trusted) shop that I bought them from said they were about 6 months old. I have had them for nearly a month and have had no problems as such. However this morning I noticed the slightly larger of the 2 bite the other ones shell and as she(persuming) tried to get away he(persuming) followed her and bit the back of her shell too, when I saw them a few minutes later the one who was biting was in the corner by the heating bulb whereas the smaller one was halfway down the viv... I dont know if this is terretorial or just playful in some way - any help would be great x

As far as I am aware they are hatchlings, and as they are so small they are currently sharing a 4ft by 2ft viv, which i am planning to upgrade as they grow

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Yes. You will need two different enclosures for your two tortoises. The bullying will get worse and worse and could lead to illness, injury, even death.
They don't play and your species doesn't like "company".

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
Keep one thing in mind please: torts in general do not like company, they'd rather be alone.

And a very warm welcome to the :tort: forum.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Tortoises should not be kept in pairs. You need to make your shop aware of this and voice your displeasure at their ignorance. At least I hope it was innocent ignorance, and not the greed of wanting to make another sale.

Read these first:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/pairs.34837/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...together-a-lesson-learned-the-hard-way.94114/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/bad-day-for-baby.114328/