Female tortoise bullies male

Jessicann

5 Year Member
I've had my male tortoise for over a year and he's always been a decently active guy - doesn't do a whole lot but eats fine, appears healthy, lays out in the sun, etc. Before I knew better, I got a second tortoise, this time a female, who, right from the start, was far more active than my male ever was. I've been keeping them in the same enclosure for a couple of months (large tank, not sure of the exact size, plenty of spots to hide, etc.) and all has been going well besides the fact that my female seems to bully the male every once in a while. It's nothing that i'm too concerned about, as she doesn't bite him/cause injuries, and both of them get plenty of food and seem totally healthy, and can get away from each other when they want to. When I take them outside, the male even follows the female around most of the time, as she's always the first to decide to go exploring. When they're in their tank, the female will just push past the male, climb over him, etc. and he just goes in his shell and hides for a while, until she's out of the way. She's very dominant over him which just seems totally out of the norm, based on what i've been reading. I've never seen them mate, or even seen the male try to make an attempt (they live in my room with me and it's definitely something i'd notice if I was around). Is this behavior normal? Is there a reason my female is so pushy? I'm 100% positive of their genders, and both are ~5-6 years old.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California