Feedback Needed On Russian Tortoise

Brandon Huf

Hi, This is my Russian tortoise Torkoal, who I've had for almost a month now. I am new to tortoise owning and would love some feedback on my setup and the overall appearance of my tortoise.

Torkoal is a female russian tortoise who I purchased from a local pet store after doing some intensive research. She is housed in a terrarium with a mesh top. The tank is temporary while I build a table for her, but if there are any issues that might cause stress or harm to Torkoal please let me know! There is a UV lamp as well as 100watt basking lamp. The temperature underneath is around 87 degrees and the temperature on the other side of the tank is about 75.koal eats 3 times a day with a meal consisting of spring mix leaves and some carrots. I also occasionally feed her some tomatoes and the rare apple slice. There is a water dish in the back left corner. I also have been soaking her in lukewarm water twice a week for about 10 minutes a session. She poops a lot in the bath.

Torkoal sleeps through almost all the day, but wakes up to eat and occasionally roam around. She loves laying on her rock under the "sun"

Mostly, I'm looking for some feedback on the following: Apparent health concerns, issues with tank, diet, shell appearance,is it okay for her to sleep buried in the dirt link in the picture, and is it normal for a tortoise to poop a lot in the bath. Thanks in advance!

Burried.jpg looking for munch.jpg Tank view.jpg Torkoal Snooze.JPG

teresaf

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Port Charlotte, Florida
Pooping in bath. yes normal. I hear Russians are great beginner torts but require room to move around(larger cages-4x4 at least). They're climbers too and escape their boxes. They do bury themselves while sleeping quite often. It fine. Welcome to the best forum for the most up to date info on torts....ALOT has changed in tort care in the last few years....