Eggs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue2

5 Year Member
Hi, I recently joined and posted in the Introduction forum. The tortoise who lives out in the garden all year round has just laid an egg-she is out there on her own-is this normal for a tortoise in her position (Ie without a mate) and is there anything I should do for her?

Thanks-I know nothing about tortoises-this is my first time!

Sarah

Attachments

• Image0088.jpg
    Image0088.jpg
    698 KB · Views: 38

matt41gb

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arlington TX.
Hi Sarah, and welcome to the forum! I'm not sure what you have there because of the close up view, but it looks like a Greek. Female tortoises can lay infertile eggs without the presence of a male. How long have you had her? I don know that female tortoises can store a male's sperm for a certain amount of time and fertilize them when they feel the need. Are you going to try to incubate the egg?

-Matt

Blue2

5 Year Member
Hi Matt

The egg had been lying on the surface for an unknown period of time when I found it so I did not think it would be worth incubating, plus I admit to having no idea where to start with that. The tortoise came with the house and local rumour has it that she has been here for up to 70 years-though I am not sure-she certainly comes with the house and lives out there all year round. we are on the East coast of Scotland and she seems to deal better with the winter than I do!

Attachments

• Photo0005.jpg
    Photo0005.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 25

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
HI Sarah: